Kjos Online Header

John Edmondson Meet John Edmondson
John Edmondson is known throughout the world for his more than 1,000 p...more

Find a KJOS Dealer

or browse by instrument

In Concert/SOE Correlation List
Midwest Clinic Pieces
Subscription Box
Right Arrow KJOS Workshops
Right Arrow KJOS Promotions
Right Arrow Licensing
Right Arrow Submissions
Right Arrow Store Locator
Right Arrow Printable Forms
(State Lists, Reference Catalog, and more!)
Right Arrow Contact KJOS
Feature Legend

Harmonized Rhythms

by James Thornton and Charles Forque

The primary focus of Harmonized Rhythms is to teach rhythmic precision through performance of 45 progressive four-part harmonized melodies. Each part book has the melody plus one or two harmony parts, which are rhythmically independent of the melody and each other. The band ensemble will gain rhythmic independence through rehearsal of the different parts.

Playing with rhythmic precision does not come naturally for many players. After students pass the beginning stages, they must be trained to think and feel the pulse of the beat. Understanding how different rhythmic patterns work together is a prerequisite to successful performances. The approach taken in Harmonized Rhythms is an excellent way to develop mental concentration, which is the key to playing with precision.

Kjos Multiple Option Scoring

Sample Pages
W18BC - Harmonized Rhythms - Euphonium - (Sample Page) W18BC - Harmonized Rhythms - Euphonium - (Table of Contents)
W18BN - Harmonized Rhythms - Bassoon - (Sample Page) W18BN - Harmonized Rhythms - Bassoon - (Table of Contents)
W18BS - Harmonized Rhythms - Tuba - (Sample Page) W18BS - Harmonized Rhythms - Tuba - (Table of Contents)
Show all 30 sample pages
widening text widening text widening text widening text widening text widening text widening text widening text widening text

New Methods & Collections:

2016 Kjos Concert Band Repertoire

Bach and Before for Band - Book 2

Standard of Excellence Festival Solos, Book 3

Tradition of Excellence: Excellence in Chamber Music



Copyright © 2006 Neil A. Kjos Music Company. All rights reserved. Prices for U.S. only, and subject to change without notice.